Exclusive: Shad Preps New Studio Album for May Release

BY Stephen CarlickPublished Apr 6, 2010

It's been a long three years, but London, ON rapper Shad has finally emerged from the studio with his first full-length album since 2007's Polaris Music Prize short-listed The Old Prince.

The new record is set for release on May 25, courtesy of Black Box Recordings and is dubbed TSOL. However, Shad is keeping the meaning to that acronym a top secret.

TSOL will be Shad's third album. The album art is viewable above, while a confirmed tracklisting is below.

Speaking ofTSOL, Shad said in a statement: "I can say it feels great to finish a new piece and the desire to make something new and interesting for my fans was a big motivation throughout. I feel grateful and excited to get to share new music on stage and in recorded form with them."

Shad (born Shadrach Kabango) began his recording career in 2005 after using the winnings from a radio rapping contest to fund his first album, When This Is Over. In 2007, he signed to Black Box and released his sophomore LP, The Old Prince, which garnered him a 2008 Juno nomination (Rap Recording of the Year), two 2009 MMVA nominations (Rap Video and VideoFACT Video of the Year) and a 2009 Indie Award (Favourite Urban Artist).

There are also murmurs that a couple Canadian tour dates are in the works, but this remains to be confirmed.


1. "Intro"
2. "Rose Garden"
3. "Keep Shining"
4. "Lucky 1's"
5. "A Good Name"
6. "We Are The Ones (Reservoir Poetry)"
7. "Telephone"
8. "Call Waiting (Interlude)"
9. "Yaa I Get It"
10. "Listen"
11. "At The Same Time"
12. "We, Myself, and I"
13. "Outro"

Latest Coverage