Duran Duran Cover Rolling Stones, Billie Eilish, Talking Heads on New Album 'Danse Macabre'

The follow-up to 2021's 'Future Past' also includes brand-new songs and reworks of the band's spooky classics

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Aug 30, 2023

New wave stalwarts Duran Duran have announced their 16th(!) studio album — and it's a spooky one, folks. Today, they've previewed the LP with the release of its eerie title track.

Produced by Mr Hudson, Danse Macabre arrives on October 27 (just in time for Halloween, obviously) through BMG. It follows 2021's Future Past and brings together songs new and old, including covers of on-theme tracks from the Rolling Stones ("Paint It Black"), Billie Eilish ("Bury a Friend"), Talking Heads ("Psycho Killer"), the Specials ("Ghost Town"), Siouxsie and the Banshees ("Spellbound") and more. The band have also reworked some of their own creepy classics, which appear alongside brand-new compositions like the album's title track. 

"The song 'Danse Macabre' celebrates the joy and madness of Halloween," keyboardist Nick Rhodes explained in a release. "The idea was born out of a show we played in Las Vegas on October 31st, 2022. We had decided to seize the moment to create a unique, special event… the temptation of using glorious gothic visuals set to a dark soundtrack of horror and humour was simply irresistible." 

He continued, "That evening inspired us to explore further and to make an album, using Halloween as the key theme. The record metamorphosed through a pure, organic process, and not only was it made faster than anything since our debut album, it has also resulted in something none of us could have ever predicted. Emotion, mood, style and attitude have always been at the heart of Duran Duran's DNA, we search for light in the darkness and darkness in the light, and I feel we have somehow managed to capture the essence of all of that in this project."

Hear the monster-mashable "Danse Macabre" below. You'll find the album tracklist in its entirety there, too.

Danse Macabre:

1. Nightboat
2. Black Moonlight
3. Love Voudou 
4. Bury a Friend
4. Supernature
5. Danse Macabre
6. Secret Oktober 31st
7. Ghost Town
8. Paint It Black
9. Super Lonely Freak
10. Spellbound
11. Psycho Killer (feat. Victoria De Angelis)
12. Confession in the Afterlife

Pre-order Danse Macabre.

Latest Coverage