Duran Duran Get Mark Ronson, Giorgio Moroder for New Album 'Future Past'

Erol Alkan, Lykke Li, Blur's Graham Coxon and more also feature

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished May 19, 2021

Duran Duran have returned with details of a star-studded new album. The English new wave outfit will deliver Future Past on October 22 via Tape Modern/BMG.

The 12-track album marks Duran Duran's 15th studio effort, following 2015's Paper Gods. Not unlike that album, Future Past finds the group teaming up with a revered roster of collaborators.

This time around, Duran Duran team up with producers Giorgio MoroderMark Ronson, Erol Alkan, Blur guitarist Graham Coxon, David Bowie's former pianist Mike Garson, and Lykke Li. A press release teases that "more exciting collaborators" are to be announced.

First single "Invisible" arrives alongside today's news, and it can be heard alongside an artificial intelligence-created music video below. Vocalist Simon Le Bon said that the single "began as a story about a one-sided relationship but grew into something much bigger, because 'a voiceless crowd isn't backing down''"

On Sunday (May 23), Duran Duran will play the the song during a worldwide exclusive televised performance airing live from London on the 2021 Billboard Music Awards, airing on NBC in North America.

"When we first went into the studio in late 2018, I was trying to persuade the guys that all we needed to do was write two or three tracks for an EP," Le Bon said of the new album's creation. "Four days later, with the nucleus of 25 plus strong songs in the can, that all deserved development, I realized we'd be in it for the long haul, but that was before COVID. So here we are in 2021 with our 15th studio album, Future Past straining at the leash. Music by Duran Duran with Graham Coxon, Lykke Li, Mike Garson, Erol Alkan, Mark Ronson, Giorgio Moroder (for God's sake!). I'm not saying it's epic, but well ... yes I am."

While a complete tracklist is not yet available, Future Past is now available for pre-order.

Latest Coverage