Drag City Unearths Long Lost Death Album

Drag City Unearths Long Lost Death Album
Back in the early '70s, three African-American lads known as the Hackney brothers made the switch from R&B to floor-rumbling rock'n'roll when they discovered the proto-punk sounds of the Stooges and the MC5. Based on that sound, their band Death was formed. The Hackneys released one single and were in the process of recording a full-length for famed Columbia A&R rep Clive Davis, who loved their sound, but insisted that the band change their name. Rather than sell out, the band used their only rock'n'roll option and pulled the plug on the album, which never saw the light of day.

Fortunately, the fine folks at Drag City can't rest with an album as good as this on the down-low, so they'll be reissuing the album, known as ...For The Whole World To See, on February 17, making it available on vinyl and CD.

To read the entire history of the band, you can check out this in-depth article from The Burlington Free Press.

...For The Whole World To See tracklisting:
1. "Keep On Knocking"
2. "Rock-N-Roll Victim"
3. "Let the World Turn"
4. "You're A Prisoner"
5. "Freakin Out"
6. "Where Do We Go From Here???"
7. "Politicians in My Eyes"