Dizzy Announce Self-Titled Third Album, Share "Open Up Wide"

It features previous singles "Barking Dog" and "Birthmark"

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Mar 29, 2023

Oshawa quartet Dizzy are back to spin heads with the announcement of their heavily anticipated third album, previewed today by seamless and sticky new satire-pop single "Open Up Wide."

DIZZY arrives on August 18 via Royal Mountain. It follows their sophomore LP, 2020's The Sun and Her Scorch, as well as the 2021 remix EP Separate Places.

Featuring previously released singles "Birthmark" and "Barking Dog," the album sees Dizzy join forces with producer and "pop nerd" David Pramik, with whom they set up a home studio with in a Los Angeles bungalow and spent two weeks recording.

"The Sun and Her Scorch was our rebellious teenage phase where we thought we could do it all ourselves," frontwoman and masked menace Katie Munshaw explained in a statement. "This new chapter is about throwing our hands up saying, 'We don't have all the answers. I'm open to having somebody help me. Help us.'"

Of new track "Open Up Wide," she continued:

When we started recording the album our producer David was super conscious of cutting the fat from each song. One afternoon he encouraged us to write our parts in a simpler, more "spoon-fed" fashion for easy listening, when Mack piped up cheekily, "Open up wide! Here comes the airplane!" The next morning we were all feeling a bit resentful of that mindset and "Open Up Wide" came to be while we were having our morning coffees. It's a tongue and cheek ode to a music industry we've never understood all that well.

"Insert the stanza that makes them weep / Remove the prose that means anything," a disaffected Munshaw sings in the bridge, before the infectious hook comes in again and almost makes you forget the lyrical heft. Almost!

Dizzy will get the kids in front headbanging on a North American tour with Joywave this spring.

Listen to "Open Up Wide" below, where you'll also find the full album tracklist.


1. Birthmark
2. Close
3. Open Up Wide
4. Starlings
5. Knock the Wind
6. My Girl
7. Jaws
8. Salmon Season
9. Barking Dog
10. Cell Division
11. Stupid 4 U
12. Are You Sick of Me Yet?

Pre-order DIZZY.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage