Devin Townsend Announces 'Empath' Album

Guests include Chad Kroeger, Steve Vai, Ryan Dahle and more

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 16, 2019

After revealing the involvement of Chad Kroeger among other guests late last year, Devin Townsend has now detailed his forthcoming Empath ablum.

Fifteen tracks in length, Empath is set to arrive March 29 through InsideOut Music. It follows the Canadian's 2016 Transcendence LP with Devin Townsend Project and marks the first release under his solo moniker since 2014 double-album .

A press statement explains that with Empath, Townsend has "has decided to see what would happen if all the styles that make up his current interests were finally represented in one place," adding that the album "is about allowing the audience a feeling for a variety of musical emotions." The sonics are described as "broad, challenging and immense."

Townsend has also confirmed the album's list of guests, which include Mike Keneally (Frank Zappa), Morgan Ågren (Mats and Morgan, Frank Zappa, Fredrik Thordendal), Anup Sastry (Monuments, Periphery), Samus Paulicelli (Decrepit Birth, Abigail Williams), Nathan Navarro, Elliot Desgagnés (Beneath the Massacre), Steve Vai, Chad Kroeger, Anneke Van Giersbergen, Ché Aimee Dorval, Ryan Dahle (Limblifter, Age of Electric, Mounties) and the Elektra Women's Choir.

To roll out the album, Townsend has planned to first release an accompanying documentary series, with individual album tracks arriving concurrently.

"This record is much different than any record that I've released thus far," Townsend explained in an accompanying video. "Trying to get people on board for what it is versus what it isn't needs to be dealt with a different way."

Empath will see release as a 2-CD set (including an entire disc of bonus material) and a gatefold 180-gram 2xLP vinyl edition, as well as arrive digitally. You can find the album's tracklist and Townsend's video message below.


1. Castaway
2. Genesis
3. Spirits Will Collide
4. Evermore
5. Sprite
6. Hear Me
7. Why
8. Borderlands
9. Requiem
10. Singularity Part 1 – Adrift
11. Singularity Part 2 – I Am I
12. Singularity Part 3 – There Be Monsters
13. Singularity Part 4 – Curious Gods
14. Singularity Part 5 – Silicon Scientists
15. Singularity Part 6 – Here Comes The Sun

Latest Coverage