Depeche Mode's Dave Gahan Covers Neil Young, PJ Harvey on New Album

'Imposter' also features songs by Jeff Buckley, Bob Dylan and more

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Oct 4, 2021

Last month, Dave Gahan was one of 53 cover artists involved with The Metallica Blacklist, and it appears the voice of Depeche Mode is still in cover mode with the announcement of a new LP. Gahan and production duo Soulsavers will deliver Imposter on November 12 via Columbia Records.

The 12-song Imposter follows Gahan and Soulsavers' 2015 outing Angels & Ghosts, and finds the Depeche Mode frontman reinterpreting songs by PJ Harvey ("The Desperate Kingdom of Love"), Jeff Buckley ("Lilac Wine"), Neil Young ("A Man Needs a Maid"), Bob Dylan ("Not Dark Yet"), Mark Lanegan ("Strange Religion") and more.

The first cover to arrive from the album is Gahan's take on Cat Power's "Metal Heart," which will land Friday (October 8). You can find the album's tracklist below.

"When I listen to other people's voices and songs — more the way they sing them and interpret the words — I feel at home," Gahan shared in a statement. "I identify with it. It comforts me more than anything else. There's not one performer on the record who I haven't been moved by. I know we made something special, and I hope other people feel that and it takes them on a little kind of trip — especially people who love music and have for years."

Find out where Gahan's version of Metallica's "Nothing Else Matters" sits in Exclaim!'s Metallica Blacklist cover ranking.


1. The Dark End of the Street
2. Strange Religion
3. Lilac Wine
4. I Held My Baby Last Night
5. A Man Needs a Maid
6. Metal Heart
7. Shut Me Down
8. Where My Love Lies Asleep
9. Smile
10. The Desperate Kingdom of Love
11. Not Dark Yet
12. Always on My Mind

Latest Coverage