Daft Punk's Thomas Bangalter Details New Album 'Mythologies'

The orchestral work "reveals a love of Baroque music and hints to traces of American minimalism"
Daft Punk's Thomas Bangalter Details New Album 'Mythologies'
Daft Punk's Thomas Bangalter has announced a new solo album. Mythologies — the elusive artist's first independent orchestral work — arrives April 7 via Erato/Warner Classics.

A 90-minute score initially commissioned in 2019 by choreographer Angelin Preljocaj for the ballet of the same name, Mythologies reportedly "does not draw on the resources of electronic music," but rather finds Bangalter wielding "the large-scale traditional force of a symphony" to craft a body of work that "shows scant regard for conventional stylistic boundaries" and "reveals a love of Baroque music and hints to traces of American minimalism."

The Mythologies production, described as a work about the "founding myths that shape the collective imagination," was premiered by the Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine under the direction of Romain Dumas in 2022.

Mythologies follows Bangalter's 2002 LP Irréversible, the soundtrack album to the film of the same name which also features singles the artist previously released via his now-defunct record label Roulé. In 2018, Bangalter contributed to Gaspar Noé's Climax soundtrack.

In 2019, Bangalter and his groupmates in Stardust remastered their celebrated single "Music Sounds Better with You" to mark its 20th anniversary.

In 2021, Bangalter and bandmate Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo announced Daft Punk had officially broken up. Last year saw the duo reissue their acclaimed debut Homework.

Pre-order Mythologies.


1. Premiers Mouvements
2. Le Catch
3. Thalestris
4. Les Gémeaux I
5. Les Amazones
6. L'Arrivée d'Alexandre
7. Treize Nuits
8. Danae
9. Zeus
10. L'Accouchement
11. Les Gorgones
12. Renaissances
13. Le Minotaure
14. Eden
15. Arès
16. Aphrodite
17. Les Naïades
18. Pas de Deux
19. Circonvolutions
20. Les Gémeaux II
21. Icare
22. Danse Funèbre
23. La Guerre