Cursive's Tim Kasher Goes Solo for The Game of Monogamy

Cursive's Tim Kasher Goes Solo for <i>The Game of Monogamy</i>
Since the early '90s, songwriter Tim Kasher has been releasing albums with a variety of bands, namely Cursive, the Good Life and Slowdown Virginia. On October 15, he will release his first solo album, The Game of Monogamy, via longtime label Saddle Creek.

According to a press release, the album "is more of an arranged record than any of Kasher's past releases, filled with theatrical arrangements and lush instrumentation to create his own blend of classic pop." This includes "strings, harp, oboe, flute, and trombone, among other instruments."

With '50s-inspired orchestral pop and ruminations on love and relationships in a conservative society, it promises to be "the score for our collective sexual plight."

Among the guests contributing to the album are Patrick Newbery, Minus the Bear's Erin Tate, Matt Maginn and members of Glacier National Symphony. It was recorded in January of this year in Whitefish, MT. The tracking took place at home and in SnowGhost Music.

See the tracklist below and the album cover above. Look for a solo tour to be announced soon. While you're waiting for The Game of Monogamy, feel free to kill time by playing the board game Monogramy.

The Game of Monogamy:

1. "Monogamy Overture"
2. "A Grown Man"
3. "I'm Afraid I'm Gonna Die Here"
4. "Strays"
5. "Cold Love"
6. "Surprise, Surprise"
7. "There Must Be Something I've Lost"
8. "Bad, Bad Dreams"
9. "No Fireworks"
10. "The Prodigal Husband"
11. "Monogamy"