The Courtneys Announce Debut LP

The Courtneys Announce Debut LP
Vancouver trio the Courtneys brightened up our winters with their beach-based clip for "90210," and now that song and more will appear on a debut LP that could may well act as the soundtrack to your summer. The trio's self-titled set drops June 7 via Hockey Dad Records

A press release notes that the eight-song affair delivers "endlessly fun indie pop" akin to the Flying Nun and C86 scenes, though the outfit's "shambolic musicianship" apparently chips in some punkier flavours as well. If you picked up the Courtneys' earlier cassette release on Green Burrito, you'll notice a number of the tracks reappear on the 12-inch, but these are newly recorded versions that were captured at the Noise Floor studio in Ladysmith, BC, with producer Jordan Koop (Peace, Babysitter, Needles//Pins). 

The Courtneys' self-titled 12-inch release is being pressed in a limited run of 300 copies, with 200 appearing on traditional black vinyl and the remaining 100 on "classic blue." That's the album cover above.

The band will have a record release party on June 7 as part of Vancouver's Music Waste festival, though venue specifics have yet to be revealed.

The Courtneys:

1. Nu Sundae
2. Manion
3. Insufficient Funds

4. 90210
5. Delivery Boy
6. Dead Dog
7. KC Reeves
8. Social Anxiety