Converge Reveal 'You Fail Me Redux'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Apr 29, 2016

While Converge have yet to announce formal plans to follow up 2012's All We Love We Leave Behind, the Massachusetts hardcore legends are about to highlight a part of their classic catalogue. A newly tweaked edition of 2004's emotionally and sonically devastating You Fail Me is set to arrive on June 17 through Epitaph/Deathwish Inc.

The band had been teasing the release for a little while now, but officially unveiled the reissue plans today (April 29). It's explained in a press release that Converge were "never quite content with the original mix" of You Fail Me, so guitarist/producer Kurt Ballou remixed the material at his GodCity studios in Salem, MA. It was then remastered by Alan Douches (Mastodon).

You Fail Me Redux will arrive digitally, on CD (which adds the previous vinyl-only track "Wolves at My Door") and as a variety of different vinyl variants, which come with a download card of the reissue.

Along with the record being remixed and remastered, the album art has also been modified a bit. Originally, the cover featured a stitched and scarred arm outlined in white and red on a black backdrop. The band have now inverted the chromatic colour scheme, presenting the image on a bright white backdrop.

You can check out the variety of pre-order packages here. You can also listen to the new version of "You Fail Me" over here.

You Fail Me followed 2001's landmark Jane Doe and found the band trimmed down from its former five-piece lineup to the still-standing roster of Jacob Bannon, Kurt Ballou, Ben Koller and Nate Newton.

Converge's last major release was 2015's full-length documentary and live album package, Thousands of Miles Between Us.

You Fail Me Redux:

1. First Light
2. Last Light
3. Black Cloud
4. Drop Out
5. Hope Street
6. Heartless
7. You Fail Me
8. In Her Shadow
9. Eagles Become Vultures
10. Wolves At My Door
11. Death King
12. In Her Blood
13. Hanging Moon

Latest Coverage