Co La Reveals New Album for Software, Premieres New Tune

Co La Reveals New Album for Software, Premieres New Tune
Baltimore electronic artist Co La (aka Matthew Papich) has bounced between labels like NNA Tapes and Friends Records for his last few releases, and has now found a new home with the esteemed Software imprint for his latest LP, Moody Coup, which arrives May 7.

A press release for the LP, his sophomore follow-up to 2011's Daydream Repeater, says that Co La's latest strays from the "relentlessly bucolic tone" of its predecessor. This means the reggae and '60s girl group inflections have been lessened in favour of something more "elusive and abstract."

The 10-song set was primarily recorded in Papich's Baltimore kitchen, with production duties split between the artist and Joe Williams, who performed all of the synths on the LP. The album, which apparently also includes a number of field recordings, was mixed at Gary's Electric Studio in Brooklyn.

Album track "Deaf Christian" is described as a doo-wop song influenced by dark house, while "Suspicious" apparently takes on a Psychic TV influence. The first teaser track from the set is the hypnotic oscillator "Melter's Delight," and you can check it out for yourself in the player down below.

Moody Coup:

1. Sukiyaki To Die For

2. Melter's Delight

3. Remarkable Features

4. Deaf Christian

5. Un

6. Suspicious (Sandman Fix)

7. Baby's Breath

8. Head in Hole in Space

9. Sympathy Flinch

10. Make it Slay (Barbershop Solo)