Cloud Nothings Are Back with New Album 'The Shadow I Remember'

Get your first taste of the Steve Albini-recorded LP with "Am I Something"
Cloud Nothings Are Back with New Album 'The Shadow I Remember'
Cloud Nothings are once again returning with a new album. This one is called The Shadow I Remember, and it will arrive next year on February 26 via Carpark Records. To get us going now, however, the band have shared the new track "Am I Something."

The new record follows this year's The Black Hole Understands and finds Cloud Nothings back working with sound hero Steve Albini, who last collaborated with the band on 2012's Attack on Memory.

Down below, you can hear the newly shared album track "Am I Something," which has arrived via some visuals created by Lu Yang.

"I became familiar with Lu Yang's work through her exhibit in Cleveland, Ohio at MOCA Cleveland in 2017," Cloud Nothings frontman Dylan Baldi said in a statement. "I was really drawn to her approach of tying religion into gender and various gendered bodily functions. The animation style of some of her work is also exactly on my wavelength — like a psychedelic genderless Sims game. Very excited to be able to work with Lu!"

Yang added: "The music video created for Cloud Nothings is a scene from my videogame The Great Adventure of Material World, which depicts an artistic reality where we are exploring and roaming, in a non-binary way, post-death delusions and the intermediate state of Bardo. Bardo has a particularly special meaning in Buddhism as the connecting point and intermediate state between life and death, past and future lives, waking and sleep, and the space in-between."

Check out "Am I Something" below.

In addition to the new album news, Cloud Nothings are also celebrating the 10th anniversary of their debut album Turning On, which will be reissued on January 29 via Carpark. The repress will feature the same tracklist as the original.

The Shadow I Remember:

1. Oslo
2. Nothing Without You
3. The Spirit Of
4. Only Light
5. Nara
6. Open Rain
7. Sound Of Alarm
8. Am I Something
9. It's Love
10. A Longer Moon
11. The Room It Was

Pre-order The Shadow I Remember.