​Cher Unveils ABBA Covers Album 'Dancing Queen'

Hear her version of "Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)" now

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Aug 9, 2018

Following her appearance in Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, Cher has announced plans to release a full album's worth of ABBA covers. Titled Dancing Queen, it's due out September 28 via Warner Bros. Records.
The 10-song album was recorded in London and Los Angeles with Cher's longtime producer and collaborator Mark Taylor.
"I've always liked ABBA and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times," Cher explained in a press release. "After filming Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking 'why not do an album of their music?' The songs were harder to sing than I imagined but I'm so happy with how the music came out."
Among the songs getting the cover treatment are "SOS," "Waterloo," "Mamma Mia," "Fernando" and, of course, the title song. See the full tracklisting for Dancing Queen below.
For a taste of the album right now, though, you can stream "Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)" below, where you'll also find the tracklist.
Dancing Queen:
1. Dancing Queen
2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
3. The Name Of The Game
4. SOS
5. Waterloo
6. Mamma Mia
7. Chiquitita
8. Fernando
9. The Winner Takes It All
10. One Of Us

Latest Coverage