Cassius Get Cat Power, Pharrell, Mike D for 'Ibifornia' LP

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Apr 1, 2016

Following a single stream and crazy music video supporting Cassius's "Action," the long-absent French electronic duo have formally announced that the song will be part of their first full-length release in 10 years. Titled Ibifornia, the record comes out June 24 via Interscope/Polydor.

A press release notes that the title to Philippe Zdar and Boom Bass's latest collection is a portmanteau of California and Ibiza, its name conjuring up an "imaginary utopia" the band say is "inside every one of us." Sonically, the set is said to be "a panoramic extravaganza of disco, funk, house, soul, afrobeat, synth-pop, psychedelia, hip-hop and gospel."

While the recently teased "Action" featured guest vocals from Cat Power (a.k.a. Chan Marshall) and Beastie Boys' Mike D, these aren't the only features on the 10-song LP. A tracklisting confirms that Marshall appears on another pair of tracks, including a cut called "Go Up" that also features Pharrell Williams.

Also spread throughout the record are a second Mike D-manned track called "Love Parade," as well as tunes featuring Ryan Tedder, Jaw and Portugal. The Man's John Gourley.

Below, you'll find streams of Ibifornia's gleefully funk-and-house-powered opening cut "The Missing," with Ryan Tedder and Jaw, as well as the disco pop pound of the Cat Power- and Pharrell-assisted "Go Up."

While Cassius had issued the Nike-sponsored CASSIUSPLAY mix in 2008, Ibifornia marks the first proper LP from the pair since 2006's 15 Again.


1. The Missing (ft. Ryan Tedder, Jaw)
2. Love Parade (ft. Mike D)
3. Action (ft. Cat Power, Mike D)
4. Go Up (ft. Cat Power, Pharell Williams)
5. Ibifornia
6. Hey You (ft. Ryan Tedder)
7. Feel Like Me (ft. Cat Power)
8. Blue Jean Smile (ft. John Gourley)
9. The Sound Of Love (ft. Jaw)
10. Ponce

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage