Brian Wilson Reimagines Beach Boys Classics on New Solo Album 'At My Piano'

Hear a preview with his solo piano version of "God Only Knows"
Brian Wilson Reimagines Beach Boys Classics on New Solo Album 'At My Piano'
The incomparable Brian Wilson is inviting us into his living room with At My Piano — an intimate new album reimagining classic Beach Boys tunes for solo piano. He's given us a preview by sharing the first track, a version of the quintessential 1966 "God Only Knows."

Wilson will also tickle the ivories on Beach Boys standards like "Good Vibrations," "Wouldn't It Be Nice" and "California Girls," for a total of over 15 tracks — including a medley of "Surf's Up," "Our Prayer," "Heroes and Villains" and "Wonderful" from the group's legendary unfinished SMiLE project. 

In a statement, the prolific musician said of the album:

We had an upright piano in our living room and from the time I was 12 years old, I played it each and every day. I never had a lesson; I was completely self-taught. I can't express how much the piano has played such an important part in my life. It has bought me comfort, joy and security. It has fuelled my creativity as well as my competitive nature. I play it when I'm happy or feeling sad. I love playing for people and I love playing alone when no one is listening. Honestly, the piano and the music I create on it has probably saved my life.

At My Piano is slated for release on November 19 via Decca Records. It follows Wilson's 2015 solo album No Pier Pressure.

Listen to Wilson's piano rendition of "God Only Knows" and check out the album tracklist below.

The Beach Boys recently released the box set Feel Flows – The Sunflower & Surf's Up Sessions 1969-1971. In 2019, Wilson featured on Kesha's High Road.

At My Piano:

1. God Only Knows
2. In My Room
3. Don't Worry Baby
4. California Girls
5. The Warmth of the Sun
6. Wouldn't It Be Nice
7. You Still Believe in Me
8. I Just Wasn't Made for These Times
9. Sketches of Smile: Our Prayer/Heroes and Villains/Wonderful/Surf's Up
10. Surf's Up
11. Friends
12. Till I Die
13. Love and Mercy
14. Mt Vernon Farewell
15. Good Vibrations

Pre-order At My Piano.