Blackie and the Rodeo Kings Tap City and Colour, Bruce Cockburn, Nick Lowe for 'Kings and Kings'

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Sep 7, 2016

Five years on from the release of Blackie and the Rodeo Kings' collaborative Kings and Queens release, the roots rock group have announced a companion LP. Bringing aboard male musicians including City and Colour's Dallas Green and Brit power pop vet Nick Lowe, their Kings and Kings collection is due October 7 via File: Under Music.

While the project last delivered South in 2013, Kings and Kings is the spiritual successor to Kings and Queens, which found Blackie and the Rodeo Kings working with vocalists including Roseanne Cash and Lucinda Williams. As a press release explains, this time around the band's Tom Wilson, Colin Linden and Stephen Fearing reached out to their "best 'guy' friends from the world of roots, blues, and country" to help put together some new tunes.

The roster of talent includes past collaborators like Bruce Cockburn, Buddy Miller, and Keb Mo, while Linden brought aboard artists like Chris Carmack, Charles Esten, Jonathan Jackson and Sam Palladio, with whom he'd worked with on the Nashville television series.

Other notable names involved with Kings on Kings include Dallas Green, Nick Lowe, Vince Gill, Rodney Crowell, Eric Church, and Raul Malo.

Thematically, the full-length kicks off with "Live By The Song," a tune written by all three Rodeo Kings, and featuring guest vocals from Crowell, that is dedicated to "every working musician/songwriter committed to the 'life.'" Elsewhere, Cockburn and Linden wax on "timeless beauty" for "A Woman Gets More Beautiful."

You'll get the full breakdown on the LP below, where you'll also find a stream of the set's Wilson-led, City and Colour-assisted "Beautiful Scars."

Kings and Kings:

1. Live By The Song (ft. Rodney Crowell)
2. Bury My Heart (ft. Eric Church)
3. Beautiful Scars (ft. City and Colour)
4. High Wire (ft. Raul Malo)
5. Playing By Heart (ft. Buddy Miller)
6. Bitter and Low (ft. Fantastic Negrito)
7. Secret of a Long Lasting Love (ft. Nick Lowe)
8. A Woman Gets More Beautiful (ft. Bruce Cockburn)
9. Land of The Living (Hamilton Ontario 2016) (ft. Jason Isbell)
10. Long Walk To Freedom (ft. Keb Mo)
11. This Lonesome Feeling (ft. Vince Gill)
12. Where The River Rolls (ft. The Men of Nashville)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage