Beta Band's Steve Mason Announces New Solo Album

Beta Band's Steve Mason Announces New Solo Album
Following some releases as King Biscuit Time and Black Affair, former Beta Band leader Steve Mason issued Boys Outside under his own name in 2010. The UK songsmith has now announced a sophomore effort will arrive in 2013, and it's titled Monkeys Minds in Devil's Time.

The 20-song set drops March 11 through Domino offshoot Double Six. Eleven of the songs were self-recorded by Mason at his home studio in Fife, while the rest of the set was tracked in London by producer Dan Carey. It also features a guest spot from UK artist MC Mysto on "More Money, More Fire."

According to a press release, Mason's latest is "an album that has been shaped by the current global political climate and the lack of dissenting voices in music, as well as popular culture in generalto be of a political nature."

You can check out the bass-poppin' first single "Fight Them Back" in a stock footage-filled video, which you'll find at the bottom of the page beneath the tracklisting.

Monkeys Minds in Devil's Time:

1. The Old Problem

2. Lie Awake

3. Flyover '98

4. A Lot Of Love

5. The Last Of Heroes

6. Lonely

7. Safe Population

8. Friends For Ever More

9. Seen It All Before

10. From Hate We Hope

11. Oh My Lord

12. Goodbye Youth

13. Never Be Alone

14. Behind The Curtains

15. More Money, More Fire

16. Fire!

17. Operation Mason

18. Fight Them Back

19. Towers of Power

20. Come To Me