Ben Stevenson Airs His 'Dirty Laundry,' Premieres "Summer Dealer"

Ben Stevenson Airs His 'Dirty Laundry,' Premieres 'Summer Dealer'
Furthering his evolution from punk kid to soul man, Toronto-based solo artist Ben Stevenson is set to release a new EP next month. He'll air our his first solo effort, Dirty Laundry, November 4 through Culvert Music.

Following the classic soul style Stevenson cooked up with the Wondertones a few years back and some material prepped with Boi-1da, Dirty Laundry apparently has the musician working himself towards a contemporary R&B direction. This time around, the seven-song set had him working alongside Houston studio figure Happy Perez (Frank Ocean, Miguel), with a press release stating the EP "showcases Ben's smooth vocals and seductive production."

You can check out their tag-team track "Summer Dealer" down below.

While three of the seven songs on Dirty Laundry were worked on with Happy Perez, Stevenson said in a statement that he had forged a "strong bond" with the producer and that they are also "working on a big new batch of songs" together.

"While this is a 'solo project' I don't think I'll ever be 100 percent solo in this music," he said, tying together his time in teen punk band Misdemeanor to his current endeavours with Perez, "I thrive on collaboration and the building of energy between musicians. It's just the way I learned playing in a band for all those years."

Ahead of the official November 4 street date, Stevenson will be playing a record release party at Toronto's Drake Hotel on October 30. You'll find more concert details and the record's tracklisting down below.

Dirty Laundry:

1. Summer Dealer
2. Ecstasy
3. Still

4. Imagining You
5. Girls Like You
6. Love Could Be
7. Start Over

Tour dates:

10/25 New York, NY – Immersive Gallery (Hybridity Records CMJ Showcase)
10/30 Toronto, ON - The Drake Hotel