Beck Teams Up with Jack White, Jack Black, Jeff Tweedy for 'Song Reader' Album

Beck Teams Up with Jack White, Jack Black, Jeff Tweedy for 'Song Reader' Album
In 2012, Beck released Song Reader, a collection of songs limited to existence as sheet music. Inevitably, the tracks made their way into a studio, and Beck has now announced a proper Song Reader album.

Similar to the star-studded shows he organized to promote the release, Beck won't be going it alone on the Song Reader LP. Instead, he's enlisted the services of Jack White, Jarvis Cocker, Tweedy (a collaboration between Jeff Tweedy and his son), Eleanor Friedberger, Laura Marling, Swamp Dogg, Jack Black, Sparks, David Johansen of the New York Dolls, Jason Isbell, Loudon Wainwright III, Norah Jones, Fun., Bob Forrest and many others.

In a press release, Beck said that he was inspired by the outside help. "It amazes me to hear how these musicians have made the songs their own and in the process revealed that the interpretation is the living breathing soul of the piece," he said. "These interpretations have made the book something new — something better."

Song Reader will be available on July 29 via Capitol.

Song Reader:

1. Moses Sumney "Title of this Song"
2. Fun. "Please Leave A Light On When You Go"
3. Tweedy "The Wolf is on the Hill"
4. Norah Jones "Just Noise"
5. Lord Huron "Last Night You Were A Dream"
6. Bob Forrest "Saint Dude"
7. Jack White "I'm Down"
8. Beck "Heaven's Ladder"
9. Juanes "Don't Act Like Your Heart Isn't Hard"
10. Laura Marling "Sorry"
11. Jarvis Cocker "Eyes That Say 'I Love You'"
12. David Johansen "Rough On Rats"
13. Jason Isbell "Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings"
14. The Last Polka "Marc Ribot"
15. Eleanor Friedberger "Old Shanghai"
16. Sparks "Why Did You Make Me Care?"
17. Swamp Dogg "America, Here's My Boy"
18. Jack Black "We All Wear Cloaks"
19. Loudon Wainwright III "Do We? We Do"
20. Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic "Mutilation Rag"