Barenaked Ladies Detail 'Detour de Force,' Share Single "New Disaster"

Barenaked Ladies Detail 'Detour de Force,' Share Single 'New Disaster'
Yit's been… two months since Barenaked Ladies announced their album Detour de Force and released the single "Flip." Now, they've detailed the LP and shared another track. "New Disaster" is out now, and Detour de Force will follow on July 16.

The album was produced by Eric Ratz and Mark Howard, and a press release promises that it's their most ambitious and intricate work to date. Singer Ed Robertson said in a statement, "We've always liked that our band is very diverse in what we do, and on this record I really enjoyed the exploration. This record is a journey."

Drummer Tyler Stewart called the record their "strongest material in 30 years, easily" and that "It hangs with Gordon."

The band recorded the album in Robertson's living room in Northern Ontario and at Toronto's Noble Street Studios. Sessions took place during the pandemic, with virtual guests contributing parts remotely — including original BNL keyboardist Andy Creeggan.

Detour de Force contains 14 songs, plus a bonus track on the vinyl version. Scroll past "New Disaster" — along with a making-of promo video about the album — to see the tracklist.

As previously announced, Barenaked Ladies will tour North America in 2022, including a lone Canadian stop in Toronto.

Detour de Force:

1. Flip
2. Good Life
3. New Disaster
4. Big Back Yard
5. Live Well
6. Flat Earth
7. Here Together
8. Roll Out
9. Bylaw
10. God Forbid
11. Paul Chambers
12. The National Park
13. Man Made Lake
14. Internal Dynamo
15. Way of the Heart (vinyl bonus track)

Pre-order Detour de Force.