Aesop Rock Returns with 'The Impossible Kid'

Aesop Rock Returns with 'The Impossible Kid'
Four years after showing off his Skelethon, indie rap vet Aesop Rock has returned with a seventh full-length album. The long-running hip-hop figure's The Impossible Kid hits stores April 29 through Rhymesayers.

A press release explains that The Impossible Kid is a particularly personal offering from the rapper, with Aesop Rock's rhymes weighing in on "depression, his sometimes rocky relationship with his family, and the turbulent handful of years following a friend's death." It's added that there is levity to the record, with the MC also tapping into a long-suppressed humourous side.

The 15-song collection was produced by Aesop Rock himself. The first taste of the set comes via the newly premiered, surreal video for "Rings," which you'll find below. There, you'll also find the tracklisting info for The Impossible Kid.

The cover art, which was co-conceived between Aesop Rock and Alex Pardee, is above.

While The Impossible Kid marks the first album from Aesop Rock since 2012, he did serve listeners the Cat Food EP in 2015, and collaborated on projects with the likes of Kimya Dawson, Rob Sonic, and Homeboy Sandman between LPs.

The Impossible Kid:

1. Mystery Fish
2. Rings
3. Lotta Years
4. Dorks
5. Rabies
6. Supercell
7. Blood Sandwich
8. Get Out of the Car
9. Shrunk
10. Kirby
11. TUFF
12. Lazy Eye
13. Defender
14. Water Tower
15. Molecules