A. G. Cook Reveals 'Apple vs 7G' Remix Collection

The compilation features Charli XCX, Caroline Polachek, Boys Noize, Max Tundra and others

BY Josiah HughesPublished May 7, 2021

PC Music head honcho A. G. Cook had a busy 2020, releasing a 49-track mixtape 7G and a more normal-sized album called Apple. Now, both of those releases are being revisited with a star-studded remix album.

Called simply Apple vs 7G, the new collection features remixes from the likes of Caroline Polachek, umru, Hannah Diamond, Boys Noize, Baauer, Max Tundra and many  others.

Of Apple vs 7G, Cook said the following:

When I was working on both Apple and 7G, I really wanted to capture the fun, limitless potential of music — a sense that anything could happen at any time. After so many directions, it felt logical to tie up both campaigns by pitting the two albums against each other. The remixers range from frequent collaborators to longtime influences, and the tracklist includes edits and covers that happened naturally over the last few months, either as part of other people's mixes or virtual live sets. There's really no organizing principle other than the feeling that everything is a remix.

The album will arrive on May 28 via PC Music, but first you can preview it with a new Charli XCX remix of "Xxoplex," which is, of course, called "Xcxoplex."

"'Xcxoplex' started as a track called 'Xxoplex' made at Charli's XCX's house before I played a show at the Echoplex," explained Cook. "My favourite songs are never-ending, existing beyond albums in the form of remixes, covers, demos, live versions and edits. When Charli and I started working on 'Xcxoplex' we subliminally both wanted to do something high energy — in my mind it became a kind of tribute to all the live shows and DJ sets that we've done together, and a way of putting the intensity of those moments back into something new."

Watch a new video for "Xcxoplex" below.

Apple vs 7G:

1. Oh Yeah (Caroline Polachek Remix)
2. Xcxoplex (ft. Charli XCX)
3. Beautiful Superstar (EASYFUN Remix)
4. Being Harsh (Oklou Cover)
5. H2O2 (ft. Denzel Himself)
6. 2021 (umru Remix)
7. The Darkness (Remix) (ft. Sarah Bonito & Hannah Diamond)
8. Lil Song (Unplugged) (With jonny gorgeous)
9. Stargon (Boys Noize Remix)
10. Lifeline (Ö Remix)
11. Alright (Dream Mix)
12. Airhead (Doss Remix)
13. Gold Leaf (GRRL Remix)
14. Today (Dream Mix)
15. The Darkness (Eartheater Remix)
16. Windows (No Rome Remix)
17. Drink Blood (caro<3 Remix)
18. Beautiful Superstar (Baauer Remix)
19. Airhead (Ö & Canblaster Remix)
20. Soft Landing (Max Tundra Remix)
21. Gold Leaf (Supersaw Edit)

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage