​'RuPaul's Drag Race' Alumna Trixie Mattel Announces New Album 'Barbara'

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jan 29, 2020

RuPaul's Drag Race all-star Trixie Mattel has announced a new studio album. The record is called Barbara, and it's due out on February 7 via PEG Records.
The album is split between the opening side of '60s and '70s surf-rock-influenced pop songs about beachside love affairs and innocent crushes, and a second side of folksy tunes about moving on from heartbreak and reconciling with a lover after a fight.
See the full tracklisting down below.
"A decade of being Trixie has me looking back at my initial sketches of her with freshly painted-on eyes," Mattel said in a statement. "She's still the plastic paragon I've always imagined; a Malibu-mod fashion doll with a darkened wit — but now there's more. While Hollywood has afforded me a life of astroturf and pink hi-balls, I've also been wisened by deep love and suspicious tan lines. I created Trixie Mattel with a 'Side A/Side B' to the character, so this record's two-part feel is as natural to me as teasing my hair."
Mattel will take the new tunes out on the road next month on her "Grown Up" tour. See the full list of upcoming dates.
Barbara marks the follow-up to 2018's One Stone. Watch a trailer for the album down below.
1. Malibu
2. We Got The Look
3. Girl Next Door
4. Jesse Jesse
5. Gold
6. I Don't Have A Broken Heart
7. I Do Like You
8. Stranger

Latest Coverage