ZONES Return with 'After Image'

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 20, 2016

Touring relentlessly since releasing their debut Real Time in 2014, Toronto psych-pop duo ZONES have revealed the details behind their forthcoming follow-up. Derek McKeon and Kat Murie will offer up their sophomore effort After Image this April.

A press release notes that After Image "sinks deeper into a terrestrial sonic landscape" than its predecessor, further detailing that "sparkling tape-warbled guitar lines melt into a woozy synth sheen while chalky drum machines propel the jams on a ski lift toward the setting sun."

Along with the fittingly hazy artwork created by McKeon above, the press release also revealed that "most songs read like sun glittered pop mutations, whereas tracks like 'Voyageur' send us into a cosmic-disco informed freak out party, while slow burners 'Orbiter' and 'Plurals' stay true to the project's ambient roots."

After Image will be released on April 1 through Pleasance Records and was mastered by Brandon Hocura of Invisible City Editions. Scroll down to see the album's tracklisting.

After Image:

1. Tides
2. Voyageur
3. Plurals
4. No Time
5. Heat
6. Light Limits
7. Orbiter

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage