Youth Lagoon Details 'Savage Hills Ballroom,' Shares "The Knower"

BY Alex HudsonPublished Jul 13, 2015

Having shared a free 7-inch in stores ahead of a new album called Savage Hills Ballroom, songwriter Trevor Powers has now confirmed the details surrounding his latest LP as Youth Lagoon.

The album will be out on September 25 through Fat Possum. It was recorded in Bristol, UK, with co-producer Ali Chant (PJ Harvey, M. Ward, Gruff Rhys).

Powers said in a statement [via Pitchfork], "I think I've had a lot of barriers in my life in general that I don't let people past, and I've gotten really sick of all that. It's too tiring trying to pretend you don't have as many flaws as everyone else."

See the freshly unveiled 10-song tracklist below. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to hear the fragile, gradually swelling electro ballad "The Knower." That song was previously released on the aforementioned free 7-inch.

Savage Hills Ballroom:

1. Officer Telephone
2. Highway Patrol Stun Gun
3. The Knower
4. No One Can Tell
5. Doll's Estate
6. Rotten Human
7. Kerry
8. Again
9. Free Me
10. X-Ray

Tour dates:

09/10 Bozeman, MT - Filling Station
09/11 Missoula, MT - Top Hat
09/12 Boise, ID - Egyptian Theatre
09/21 Brooklyn, NY - Rough Trade
09/24 London, UK - XOYO
09/26 Paris, France - Cafe De La Danse
09/28 Brussels, Belgium - Rotonde, Botanique
09/30 Amsterdam, Netherlands - Bitterzoet
10/02 Berlin, Germany - Magnet Club
10/04 Copenhagen, Denmark - Jazzhouse

Latest Coverage