Young Rival Announce 'Stay Young,' Offer Up New Track

Young Rival Announce 'Stay Young,' Offer Up New Track
Two years after releasing their "fresh and fizzy" 2010 self-titled set, Hamilton, ON-based trio Young Rival have announced their follow-up, Stay Young. Like that last collection, it will be issued through Sonic Unyon, who will drop the album October 23.

The outfit's latest set of songs was tracked last fall by producer Jon Drew (Fucked Up, Tokyo Police Club), who also manned the boards on Young Rival, and apparently the album finds the act further exploring their beefed-up, '60s-pop referencing sound.

"With this record, we focused more on the melodic range of our sound while still retaining the grit and feel of our previous records," drummer Noah Fralick said in a statement.

The band are giving a preview of what's to come via the jangly, distorted sock hop shuffler "Black Is Good," which navigates between a "Lust for Life"-styled bounce and a messy pop chorus. You can stream or download the cut down below.

Young Rival have a couple shows lined up in Hamilton and Montreal, but more dates are expected to pop up shortly.

Stay Young:

1. Black Popcorn

2. Nothing You Know

3. Let It Go

4. I Don't Care

5. Black Is Good

6. Two Reasons

7. Better Things

8. Lost

9. Valerie

10. Night Song

Tour dates:

9/14 Hamilton, ON - Supercrawl (main stage)

9/21 Montreal, QC - Pop Montreal