Xiu Xiu Announce First Album on Polyvinyl

Xiu Xiu Announce First Album on Polyvinyl
Pop experimenters Xiu Xiu have stuck with the 5RC/Kill Rock Stars family throughout their decade-long career, but main man Jamie Stewart is shaking things up this time by releasing his next album, Always, through Polyvinyl Records.

A press release from the label confirms that they'll deliver Always, which follows up 2010's Dear God, I Hate Myself, on March 6. The 12-song outing was recorded by Deerhoof's Greg Saunier, who also sings and drums on the album, while John Congleton (Antony and the Johnsons, Marylin Manson, the Roots) mixed the disc.

The album is described as building off of Stewart's avant pop fascinations and adding in new elements of "choral music, kraut rock and animal field recordings." Like in the past, Always is said to find Stewart musing on a number of taboo topics, including "sexual objectification, abortion, incest, molestation." In particular, "I Luv Abortion" might ruffle a few conservative feathers.

You can stream opening cut "Hi," which finds the vocalist delivering some sultry and shushed vibrato atop a full-bodied synthpop melody.

Always is up for pre-order here. Hurry up and you might be able to nab a the limited edition clear pink LP, of which they only pressed 500.


1. "Hi"

2. "Joey's Song"

3. "Beauty Towne"

4. "Honey-Suckle"

5. "I Luv Abortion"

6. "The Oldness"

7. "Chimney's Afire (Mickensian Suicide)"

8. "Gul Mudin"

9. "Born to Suffer"

10. "Factor Girl"

11. "Smear the Quen"

12. "Black Drum Machine"

Hi by Xiu Xiu