William Basinski's 'Melancholia' Gets Remastered for First-Ever Vinyl Release

William Basinski's 'Melancholia' Gets Remastered for First-Ever Vinyl Release
Over 10 years after avant-garde composer William Basinski revealed his Melancholia suite, the project will be getting its first-ever vinyl release. The wax edition arrives April 29 through Temporary Residence Ltd..

While the album originally arrived in 2003 as the follow-up to Basinski's favourited The Disintegration Loops, a press release explains that the project originally began as a set of loops prepped by the artist in the early '80s. After having shelved the material for decades, Basinski rediscovered the loops and began to alter his source material into new compositions, with the re-envisioned results offering "a stunning new sound all their own."

The 14-song set has been fully remastered for vinyl and is being repackaged in a gatefold jacket with brand new artwork, which you can see up above.

Pre-orders are being taken over here.


1. Melancholia I

2. Melancholia II

3. Melancholia III

4. Melancholia IV

5. Melancholia V

6. Melancholia VI

7. Melancholia VII

8. Melancholia VIII

9. Melancholia IX

10. Melancholia X

11. Melancholia XI

12. Melancholia XII

13. Melancholia XIII

14. Melancholia XIV