The Walkmen Announce 'Heaven'

The Walkmen Announce 'Heaven'
We knew that the Walkmen would be announcing their new album sometime soon, as the emotive rock troupe revealed that they had completed the sessions earlier this month. Sure enough, the band have officially unveiled Heaven, which is due out on June 5 through Fat Possum/Bella Union.

As previously reported, the disc was produced by long-running studio guru Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, the Shins) at his studio in the Seattle region.

Frontman Hamilton Leithauser said in a statement, "The detachment you can feel throughout our younger records is gone. We felt like it was time to make a bigger, more generous statement."

He previously said, "We're able to keep a relaxed pace to really loud rock songs. I'm hoping to have a relaxed feel on the record."

We don't yet have a tracklist, but the recent live cut "Heartbreaker" did indeed make the cut, as well as "No One Ever Sleeps," which features a guest vocal spot from Fleet Foxes frontman Robin Pecknold.

Check out the album cover above and a rather low-key trailer below. The clip shows the band working in the studio and contains a snippet of sombre guitar arpeggios.

Heaven is the follow-up to 2010's Lisbon.