The Wailin' Jennys' Cara Luft Unveils New Solo Album

The Wailin' Jennys' Cara Luft Unveils New Solo Album
There was a seven-year break between Cara Luft's first solo album, Tempting the Storm, and its follow-up, The Light Fantastic. Luckily, fans of the Wailin' Jennys member won't have quite so long to wait for the next one, since she will release Darlingford on June 19 through Blue Case Tunes/Fontana North.

While there are a few weeks until the official release, you can already get the whole album, since Luft is selling it right now over at Bandcamp.

According to a press release, Darlingford is Luft's "most intimately personal and fully realized collection of songs to date, drawn from her recent life experiences and informed throughout with her indomitably optimistic spirit and impeccable musical instincts."

It was largely recorded in the Manitoba town of Darlingford. The self-produced collection was funded by a successful crowdfunding campaign and is said to be inspired by British folk music. To back her during the sessions, Luft "[handpicked] an all-star cast of guest musicians to contribute parts from around the globe."

See the 13-song tracklist below, and scroll to the bottom of the page to listen to the entire record.


1. Only Love Can Save Me
2. Bye Bye Love
3. Bring 'Em All In
4. House on Fire
5. The Ploughboy and the Cockney
6. Idaho
7. Dallaire
8. Off My Mind
9. Portland Town
10. He Moved Through the Fair
11. My Darling One
12. It's Gonna Be Alright
13. Charged!