Villagers Returns with 'Darling Arithmetic'

Villagers Returns with 'Darling Arithmetic'
Two years after having taken listeners to {Awayland}, Irish folk project Villagers has announced its next sonic journey. Darling Arithmetic, the act's third full-length, lands April 14 through Domino.

A press release notes that the album is "entirely about love and relationships," with leader Conor O'Brien's lyrics detailing "desire, obsession, lust, loneliness and confusion." The nine-song collection was written, recorded, produced and mixed by O'Brien in his farmhouse home in Malahide, Ireland. Beyond O'Brien's acoustic strumming and softened vocals, the album is said to be marked with mellotron, piano and lightly brushed drums, apparently making for a sparse song cycle.

Helping launch the set, a video has been released behind opening number "Courage." The song is about learning to love yourself ("It took a little time to be honest / It took a little time to be me"). You'll find the simple clip of songwriter O'Brien sitting back and playing the tune down beneath the album's tracklisting.

Darling Arithmetic:

1. Courage
2. Everything I Am Is Yours
3. Dawning On Me
4. Hot Scary Summer
5. The Soul Serene
6. Darling Arithmetic
7. Little Bigot
8. No one To Blame
9. So Naïve