Viagra Boys Head Inside 'Cave World' on New Album

Watch a video for new single "Ain't No Thief"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 20, 2022

Fresh off a sold-out North American tour, Viagra Boys have detailed their third studio LP. The Swedish post-punks will share Cave World on July 8 via YEAR0001.

Following 2021's Welfare JazzCave World was produced by Pelle Gunnerfeldt and DJ Haydn, and marks the band's first LP since the passing of co-founding guitarist Benjamin Vallé last year.

The album's 12-song tracklist, found below, features compositions named for classic cave dwellers like "Creepy Crawlers" and "Troglodyte," while also pointing to deeper concepts with titles like "Human Error," "The Cognitive Trade-Off Hypothesis" and "Globe Earth."

The first of Cave World's songs to arrive is "Ain't No Thief," another bit of enrapturing distorted groove that comes accompanied by a music video from director SNASK. In it, vocalist Sebastian Murphy plays the role of an Evangelical preacher leading — or misleading — his deep-pocketed congregation.

Viagra Boys have also announced a slate of new US and EU tour dates, and seeing as they went hard in Canada earlier this month, no new shows have been announced in the country. You can find their forthcoming live dates here.

Read Exclaim!'s review of Welfare Jazz.

Cave World:

1. Baby Criminal
2. Cave Hole
3. Troglodyte
4. Punk Rock Loser
5. Creepy Crawlers
6. The Cognitive Trade-Off Hypothesis
7. Globe Earth
8. Ain't No Thief
9. Big Boy
10. ADD
11. Human Error
12. Return to Monke

Latest Coverage