Van Morrison Signs with Blue Note for 'Born to Sing: No Plan B'

Van Morrison Signs with Blue Note for 'Born to Sing: No Plan B'
It's been several years since Van Morrison released his last studio album, 2008's Keep It Simple, and now the rock'n'roll legend is preparing to return with a new record deal and album. The new LP is called Born to Sing: No Plan B and it will drop on October 2 through Blue Note Records.

The songwriter said in a press release, "With most record companies being so corporate I am happy to be working with [label president] Don Was and the team at Blue Note. To have such a creative music person as the head of my recording label assures me that all the effort taken to write and record this new album will be rewarded with a music-based focus and marketing approach. I look forward to many recording projects with Don and Blue Note."

There's no word as to what exactly the album will sound like, but the label has traditionally been closely associated with jazz. Morrison's previous release through Blue Note, 2003's What's Wrong with This Picture?, mixed jazz with Celtic, blues and soul influences.

Born to Sing: No Plan B was recorded in Morrison's hometown of Belfast in Northern Ireland. See the tracklist below.

Born to Sing: No Plan B:

1. Open the Door (To Your Heart)
2. Going Down to Monte Carlo
3. Born to Sing
4. End of the Rainbow
5. Close Enough for Jazz
6. Mystic of the East
7. Retreat and View
8. If In Money We Trust
9. Pagan Heart
10. Educating Archie

Pick up a copy of Van Morrison's Roll With the Punches via MusicVaultz.