Van Morrison Readies 40th Studio LP 'The Prophet Speaks'

Along with six new tracks, he'll cover Sam Cooke, John Lee Hooker and more
Van Morrison Readies 40th Studio LP 'The Prophet Speaks'
After teaming with Joey DeFrancesco for You're Driving Me Crazy earlier this year, Van Morrison has lifted the curtain on his 40th studio LP.

Titled The Prophet Speaks, Morrison's latest will arrive December 7 through Caroline.

Fourteen tracks in length, the album finds the veteran singer/songwriter reinterpreting the work of Sam Cooke, John Lee Hooker, Willie Dixon and more alongside multi-instrumentalist DeFrancesco and his band.

Morrison has also written six new tracks for the effort, titled "Got to Go Where The Love Is," "5 am Greenwich Mean Time," "Ain't Gonna Moan No More," "Love Is Hard Work," "Spirit Will Provide" and "The Prophet Speaks."

"It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning," Morrison said of his 40th LP in a statement. "Writing songs and making music is what I do, and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable."

The Prophet Speaks is available for preorder here.

The Prophet Speaks:

1. Gonna Send You Back To Where I Got You From (Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson, Leona Blackman)
2. Dimples (John Lee Hooker, James Bracken)
3. Got to Go Where The Love Is (Van Morrison)
4. Laughin' and Clownin' (Sam Cooke)
5. 5 am Greenwich Mean Time (Van Morrison)
6. Gotta Get You Off My Mind (Solomon Burke, Delores Burke, Josephine Burke Moore)
7. Teardrops (J.D. Harris)
8. I Love The Life I Live (Willie Dixon)
9. Worried Blues / Rollin' and Tumblin' (J.D. Harris)
10. Ain't Gonna Moan No More (Van Morrison)
11. Love Is A Five Letter Word (Gene Barge)
12. Love Is Hard Work (Van Morrison)
13. Spirit Will Provide (Van Morrison)
14. The Prophet Speaks (Van Morrison)