United Nations Take the Piss Out of the Beatles with New Reissue

United Nations Take the Piss Out of the Beatles with New Reissue
Original vinyl copies of shadowy hardcore supergroup United Nations' 2008 debut are hard to come by, but the band are about to make things easier via an upcoming repress through Temporary Residence Ltd./Collect Records. These latest copies land with all-new artwork on July 10.

A press release explains that the initial batch, which was delivered through Eyeball Records, had featured controversial artwork that pictured the Beatles' iconic Abbey Road scene engulfed in flames. Though the "lawsuit-baiting" image didn't yield a court date for the band, it's alleged that retailers had destroyed thousands of copies of the offending item. Vinyl records were later housed in a less controversial packaged that displayed the band logo.

Now, United Nations are repackaging the set with the original artwork. It's explained that the "banned" artwork has been restored, and will be presented inside the release, as well as on a 12x36" full-color foldout poster. Further working a Fab Four theme, United Nations now comes in a new gatefold sleeve that pokes fun at the minimalist approach of the Beatles' White Album.

The record jackets are being stamped sequentially, with the pressing said to run out only when the band get sued. You'll find a stream of the set's "Resolution No. 9," another Beatles-minded reference, down below.

United Nations is a project led by former Thursday vocalist Geoff Rickly. The band's once under-wraps membership has also included members of Glassjaw and Converge.

United Nations:

1. The Spinning Heart of the Yo-Yo Lobby
2. Resolution 9
3. No Sympathy For A Sinking Ship
4. The Shape of Punk That Never Came
5. My Cold War 
6. Model UN 
7. Filmed in Front of a Live Studio Audience 
8. Revolutions in Graphic Design 
9. I Kept Living the Same Day
10. Subliminal Testing
11. Say Goodbye To General Figment of the USS Imagination