Unicorns/Clues' Alden Penner Announces 'EXEGESIS' Solo Album

Unicorns/Clues' Alden Penner Announces 'EXEGESIS' Solo Album
After issuing his Precession EP last month as a teaser to a solo album, former Unicorns/Clues member Alden Penner has now dished the details on his first full-length. Dubbed EXEGESIS, the album drops February 4.

A press release notes that while the Montreal-based Penner has issued a handful of "limited-run singles," a pair of EPs, and some film score work, EXEGESIS is his first proper solo album. Some of the tracks were apparently "started years ago," with Penner tracking material either at home by himself or in a recording studio with engineer Mark Lawson (Arcade Fire, Basia Bulat). Penner and multimedia artist Laura Crapo, who both act as co-producers on the set, apparently completed the recordings early this year.

The 11-song outing, whose tracklist you can see below, includes all four tracks from the recently released Precession LP. You can stream those particular tunes in the player down below.


1. Precession

2. Louis XIV

3. A Beautiful Dream

4. Disney Waltz

5. Losing My Head

6. Lost The Skin

7. Beauty Of The Lamb

8. Word

9. I, Icarus

10. We Seek

11. No Peace