Tune-Yards Announce New Album 'sketchy.'

Listen to the record's latest offering "hold yourself."
Tune-Yards Announce New Album 'sketchy.'
Merrill Garbus and Nate Brenner have shared plans for their fifth studio album as Tune-Yards, their first in three years. Titled sketchy., the record will arrive on March 26 via 4AD.

Ditching their computer screens and opting instead to write songs with live instruments, Barbus and Brenner began "jamming for hours" on a daily basis, birthing a sound akin to their earliest recordings.

"I started remembering that people come to us to be entertained, to move, to feel joy," Garbus said in a release. "And together, I think, we can wake up."

Following the release of the album's first single "nowhere man," which arrived last fall, the group have now shared another new track from the record, "holding yourself.," as well as its accompanying animated video, directed by Basa Studio.

"This song is about feeling really betrayed by my parents' generation," said Garbus. "And at the same time, really seeing how we are betraying the future."

Tune-Yards last shared I can feel you creep into my private life in 2018. That same year, the duo scored Boots Riley's Sorry to Bother You, and will soon score a forthcoming series from the artist. 

Listen to "hold yourself." below, where you can also find the record's tracklisting.


1. nowhere, man
2. make it right.
3. hypnotized
4. homewrecker
5. silence pt. 1 (when we say "we")
6. silence pt. 2 (who is "we"?)
7. hold yourself.
8. sometime
9. under your lip
10. my neighbor
11. be not afraid.

Pre-order sketchy.