Trivium's Matt Heafy Details Debut of New Band Ibaraki with Ihsahn, Gerard Way

Behemoth's Nergal appears on new single "Akumu"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Feb 18, 2022

Trivium frontman Matt Heafy has announced the debut album from new metal outfit Ibaraki. The project's first release, Rashomon, will arrive May 6 via Nuclear Blast.

The 10-song Rashomon was produced by Ihsahn, the Emperor guitarist/vocalist and black metal legend whose collaborative relationship with Heafy and his Trivium bandmates began on 2015's Silence In the Snow.

My Chemical Romance vocalist Gerard Way also appears on a song called "Ronin," while Behemoth frontman Nergal contributes to new single "Akumu," which can be heard below alongside the previously shared "Tamashii No Houkai."

"'Akumu' translates to 'nightmare' — and with this piece, I encourage the listener to work to find their interpretations of what they feel from the lyrics, music and the haunting visuals of the music video," Heafy shared of Ibaraki's latest.

"I have always been fascinated by [Olivier de Sagazan's] Transfiguration," he continued, "and for years, I have wanted to pay homage to his works with a performance art piece; to finally be able to immerse myself in his style was an intense experience."

Heafy adds of his Behemoth collaborator, "Having Nergal guest in this Ihsahn co-written piece allowed me to combine many of my long-time influences; and when I presented with Nergal of the challenge of translating my lyrics into Polish, it brought the song to another level."

Trivium delivered 10th studio album In the Court of the Dragon last year. Early last month, Heafy heaped praise on the rhythmic approach of a Canadian guitarist.


1. Hakanaki Hitsuzen
2. Kagutsuchi
3. Ibaraki-Doji
4. Jigoku Dayu
5. Tamashii No Houkai
6. Akumu (feat. Nergal)
7. Komorebi
8. Ronin (feat. Gerard Way)
9. Susanoo No Mikoto (feat. Ihsahn)
10. Kaizoku

Latest Coverage