Tricky Returns With New Album, Signs To Domino

Tricky Returns With New Album, Signs To Domino
After an extended spell of silence, Tricky will be making his long overdue return with Knowle West Boy, his first album in five years. For the Brits, the new studio full-length by the trip-hoppin’ pioneer will hit via Domino July 7 and for us North Americans, September 9.

According to Domino, "The release finds the artist seizing his roots and detailing the travels and travails of his youth, resulting in a record that acts as an eclectic aural history of his diverse upbringing.”

Knowle West Boy, named after the Bristol urban ghetto where Tricky grew up, is produced by the artist himself, along with the help of M.I.A. collaborator Switch, and was recorded in London and in L.A. to make "the summation of everything that Tricky has accomplished since his 1995 Maxinquaye debut.”

The album will be preceded by a "twisted Specials-worshipping punk celebration of self belief," otherwise known as the single "Council Estate,” on June 30. To see a teaser for the track’s new video, go to the album’s recently erected website. Now here’s the Knowle West Boy tracklisting:

1. Puppy Toy
2. Bacative
3. Joseph
4. Veronika
5. C'mon Baby
6. Council Estate
7. Past Mistake
8. Coalition
9. Cross To Bear
10. Slow
11. Baligaga
12. Far Away
13. School Gates