Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers "American Dream Plan B"

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers 'American Dream Plan B'
When Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers released a teaser clip for their new album Hypnotic Eye, it included a few snippets of music, including a crunchy riff-rocking number. It's now been revealed that this tune is called "American Dream Plan B," and it can be streamed in full.

The track centres around a meaty rock riff that lives up to Petty's previous promise, "I knew I wanted to do a rock'n'roll record. We hadn't made a straight hard-rockin' record, from beginning to end, in a long time." The track also includes some elements of sweetness, as Petty's vocals are melodic as usual, and acoustic strumming enters as the song progresses.

Scroll past the tracklist to listen [via Rolling Stone].

The album will be out on July 29 through Reprise Records. See Petty's tour schedule here.

Hypnotic Eye:

1. American Dream Plan B

2. Fault Lines

3. Red River

4. Full Grown Boy

5. All You Can Carry

6. Power Drunk

7. Forgotten Man

8. Son of My Youth

9. U Get Me High

10. Burnt Out Town

11. Shadow People