Tim Hecker Returns with 'Love Streams' LP

BY Sarah MurphyPublished Jan 27, 2016

After a year that saw, heard and, uh, smelled Tim Hecker working on a variety of projects like the score to The Free World and his perfume-oriented project "Ephemera," the Canadian electronic musician has revealed plans for a follow-up record to 2013's Virgins.
The new album is called Love Streams, and it will arrive on April 8 through Paper Bag Records in Canada and via 4AD in the rest of the world.
Love Streams was recorded over the past two years in Reykjavik, Iceland, and hears Hecker accompanied by Kara-Lis Coverdale and Grímur Helagson, who appeared on Virgins. He also enlisted the voices of the Icelandic Choir Ensemble, as well as Oscar-nominated composer Jóhann Jóhannson to score the vocal arrangements.
Content-wise, Hecker claims the new material is a result of reflecting on the state of music in the age of auto-tune and exploring "liturgical aesthetics after Yeezus."
Find the full tracklisting below. Beyond that, relive "Amps, Drugs, Mellotron" from Hecker's recent contribution to an Adult Swim singles series.

Hecker will also be playing a string of shows spanning Europe and North America, including a stop in his hometown of Montreal for Mutek festival on June 2. Find the full list of dates here.
Love Streams:
1. Obsidian
2. Counterpoint
3. Music of the Air
4. Bijie Dream
5. Live Leak Instrumental
6. Violet Monumental I
7. Violet Monumental II
8. Up Red Bull Creek
9. Castrati Stack
10. Voice Crack
11. Collapse Sonata
12. Black Phase

Latest Coverage