This Is Spinal Tap Gets 25th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue

<i>This Is Spinal Tap</i> Gets 25th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue
The film that forged the rockumentary genre is a quarter-century old this year. Yep, ingenious comedic venture This Is Spinal Tap, which follows a British hard rock band through their horrific U.S. tour - required viewing for any musician - is 25. Tell us: how old do you feel?

In celebration of the momentous occasion, the sometimes real, sometimes gag band's official website notes that this is an "aggressively priced" CD/DVD package that boasts the 19 original Tap songs, as well as an exclusive hour-long DVD featuring track-by-track video commentary by the band and a unique pop-up diorama package that unveils three 12-inch action figures of the band, along with a proportionally sized Stonehenge (courtesy of Sideshow Collectibles).

For the real die-hards, there will also be a free download of the previously unreleased "Saucy Jack" tune referenced in the film, as well as exclusive digital versions of "Sex Farm" and "(Listen to the) Flower People." Vinyl geeks will be treated to limited-edition 11-inch (get it - "goes to 11?") version of the album.

As we previously reported, Spinal Tap - David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean), Nigel Tufnel (Christopher Guest) and bassist Derek Smalls (Harry Shearer) - will also be releasing their first new album since 1992's Break Like The Wind. Dubbed Back From The Dead, the album will hit shelves on June 16 thanks to the fine folks at The Label Industry Records/Artist2Market/INgrooves. It contains studio versions of the unforgettable songs featured in the film accompanied by six new tracks.

Says Hubbins, "This album title says it all. We're back from the dead. But we weren't dead. But we definitely are back. Back From The Dead is destined to be a collector's item, especially among collectors. The LP includes the newly interpreted Tap classics..."

Adds Smalls, "While the movie and soundtrack accurately represented our stage sound at the time, the studio versions of these songs on this album represent the cosmic maturation of the material, within a digital context. Also, they're louder."

Back From The Dead tracklisting:

"Tonight I'm Gonna Rock You Tonight"
"Back From The Dead"
"(Funky) Sex Farm"
"Rock 'n' Roll Creation"
"Jazz Oddyssey I"
"Gimme Some Money"
"Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare"
"Heavy Duty"
"America "
"Jazz Oddyssey II"
"(Listen to the) Flower People (Reggae Stylee)"
"Hell Hole"
"Big Bottom"
"Celtics Blues"
"Jazz Oddyssey III"
"Warmer Than Hell"
"Short and Sweet"
"Cups and Cakes"