Thee Oh Sees Announce New 'Drop' LP

Thee Oh Sees Announce New 'Drop' LP
California psych-garage favourites Thee Oh Sees gave their fans panic attacks a couple of months ago after announcing a hiatus, in part instigated by leader John Dwyer's move from the Bay Area to Los Angeles and years of touring. The band promised a new album was on the way, though, and have now confirmed that their Drop will, well, drop this spring.

Dwyer will issue the set April 29 through his Castle Face Records imprint. According to a press sheet, the record was tracked last fall at a banana ripening warehouse with Sacramento musician Chris Woodhouse, who also tackled drum duties on the set. Also making appearances on the album are fellow garage rock figures Mikal Cronin, Greer McGettrick (the Mallard) and Casafis.

Though a tracklisting has yet to pop up in full, Drop features songs such as "Penetrating Eye," described as "the heaviest Oh Sees song yet," as well as fuzzed-out numbers "Transparent World" and "Put Some Reverb on My Brother." Conversely, the record is said to mellow out via the harpsichord-employing "King's Nose" and the "far-out pop" of the mellotron-assisted closer "The Lens," making for an LP "with an emphasis on the pensive and the paranoid."

Up above, you'll find the freaky neon nightmare scene that serves as the cover art.

Ahead of the new Oh Sees record, Dwyer will be dropping his first album as Damaged Bug. Slathered in "synthesizers, drum machines, and assorted hand-made electronics," his Hubba Bubba arrives February 25, also through Castle Face. You can check out the set's "Photograph" in the player down below.

UPDATE: You can now stream the new Oh Sees track "Penetrating Eye" below via Pitchfork and check out the full tracklist.


1. Penetrating Eye
2. Encrypted Bounce
3. Savage Victory
4. Put Some Reverb on My Brother
5. Drop
6. Camera (Queer Sound)
7. King's Nose
8. Transparent World
9. The Lens