The Spits Ready First Album in Nine Years

Listen to two tracks from 'VI' now

BY Josiah HughesPublished Sep 30, 2020

Lo-fi garage punk survivors the Spits have outlasted the vast majority of their peers without compromising any of the grit or substance in their music. As such, it's pretty damn exciting that they're about to release their first LP in nine years.

The new album is simply called VI, and in case you're not up on your Roman numerals, it is their sixth full-length. The album was recorded in basements in Kalamazoo and Grand Rapids, MI, on a "terrible drum kit with a literal thrift store guitar."

"We've only been into an actual studio like three times," the band's Sean Wood said in a statement. "I don't think we've had one record that was recorded all in one place, this may be the closest thing. And for these songs we'd record a couple tracks, step away and go back at it later — sometimes weeks later. You know, take our time."

VI is set to arrive on October 30 via the band's own newly minted Thriftstore Records imprint. Until then, listen to "Up All Night" and "Breakdown."


1. Up All Night
2. Out Of Time
3. Cop Kar
4. Breakdown
5. Creep
6. Broken Glass
7. Lose My Mind
8. It's Over
9. They
10. Wurms

Pre-order VI.

Latest Coverage