The Mars Volta Detail Acoustic Album 'Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón'

Hear the duo's new version of "Blank Condolences"

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Mar 10, 2023

After returning with their first new album in a decade last year, the Mars Volta have revealed they have treated their 2022 self-titled LP to a track-by-track acoustic version.

The duo of Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodriguez-Lopez will share Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón on April 21 via Clouds Hill Recordings.

Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón is said to be more than "a simple 'un-plugged' reading" of their self-titled LP, and more a version aiming to further mission of the parent record: bringing the duo's traditional Latin melodic and rhythmic influence to the fore.

"I realized I could finally make a record like this now, I just had to make it happen," Rodríguez-Lopez shares in a press release. "That was the experiment. And it was super fun. I feel like the Mars Volta is finally beginning — that's why the last album was self-titled, because we've finally stripped everything away and arrived at what the whole concept was at the beginning. And this acoustic version comes from a profound place, with its own meaning and philosophy, and its own reason for being."

You can hear just how much the duo have pared things back with the acoustic version of "Blank Condolences" below.

Bixler-Zavala and Rodriguez-Lopez's return to action as the Mars Volta has also seen them reissue their acclaimed back catalogue as a massive vinyl box set and as individual titles.

Qué Dios Te Maldiga Mí Corazón:

1. Blacklight Shine (Acoustic)
2. Graveyard Love (Acoustic)
3. Shore Story (Acoustic)
4. Blank Condolences (Acoustic)
5. Vigil (Acoustic)
6. Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon (Acoustic)
7. Cerulea (Acoustic)
8. Flash Burns from Flashbacks (Acoustic)
9. Palm Full of Crux (Acoustic)
10. No Case Gain (Acoustic)
11. Tourmaline (Acoustic)
12. Equus 3 (Acoustic)
13. Collapsible Shoulders (Acoustic)
14. The Requisition (Acoustic)

Latest Coverage