The Chats Announce New Album 'Get Fucked'

They've shared a video for opening track "6L GTR"

BY Allie GregoryPublished May 5, 2022

Aussie punks the Chats have announced plans for a new album charmingly titled Get Fucked, which is due for release on August 19 through their own Bargain Bin Records.

Today, they've also shared album opener "6L GTR," named after a licence plate spotted by member Eamon Sandwith in an airport carpark. "I don't even know if the car itself was actually a six-litre GTR or anything," he said in a statement. "To be honest with you, I don't even know what a car like that would look like! I can't drive! That was the thing, we were just trying to get into this dude's head."

The track is accompanied by an animated video by illustrator Marco Imov, who recreated each band member in cartoon form. "They hinted that it would be cool if instead of being directly about the car, it should be about the band wanting the car," explained Imov. "From there it kind of wrote itself down."

The track follows the release of "Struck by Lightning," which arrived back in March. Get Fucked is rounded out by 11 additional tracks, among them such titles as "I've Been Drunk in Every Pub in Brisbane" and "The Price of Smokes."

You can catch the trio on their North American tour this month. They hit Montreal's Foufounes Électriques on May 10, Toronto's Velvet Underground on the 11th and Vancouver's Hollywood Theatre on the 27th. See their full tour itinerary here.

Watch a video for "6L GTR" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

Get Fucked:

1. 6L GTR
2. Struck by Lightning
3. Boggo Road
4. Southport Superman
5. Panic Attack
6. Ticket Inspector
7. The Price of Smokes
8. Dead on Site
9. Paid Late
10. I've Been Drunk in Every Pub in Brisbane
11. Out on the Street
12. Emperor of the Beach
13. Getting Better

Latest Coverage