Thao and Mirah Join Forces for Joint LP

Thao and Mirah Join Forces for Joint LP
Well, you can't say you didn't see this one coming. Following a joint tour last year, which itself was preceded by a collaborative performance at 2010's Noise Pop Festival, indie folksters Mirah and Thao Nguyen have teamed up for a new project. Putting their solo on careers on hold for the moment, the pair have announced a new band, titled, simply, Thao and Mirah.

A press release for the group explains that the two recorded their self-titled debut last summer with friend and colleague Merrill Garbus (Tune-Yards) acting as co-producer and a guest musician. The 11-song set will see release on Kill Rock Stars on April 26.

Though Garbus may be featured on a couple of songs, the statement further explains that Thao and Mirah played the bulk of the set themselves, jamming on anything "from drums and bottles to slide guitar and knee caps."

Both artists brought in a batch of songs to the recording sessions, which were later worked on as a group. Described as "a collection of songs from two distinctly different, highly respected songwriters, threaded and woven together with the creative energy and freedom of collaboration," Thao and Mirah primes itself as an album that brings out the best of both artists. You can check out the tracklisting below and the cover art above.

Thao and Mirah:

1. "Eleven"

 2. "Folks"

 3. "Little Cup"

 4. "Rubies and Rocks"

 5. "Teeth"

 6. "Spaced Out Orbit"

 7. "How Dare You"

 8. "Sugar and Plastic"

 9. "Likable Man"

 10. "Hallelujah"

 11. "Squareneck"