Telekinesis's Self-Titled Debut Gets Vinyl Reissue via Merge

Telekinesis's Self-Titled Debut Gets Vinyl Reissue via Merge
Earlier this year, Seattle indie pop unit Telekinesis delivered its Dormarion LP via Merge, and it's now been revealed that the label will also deliver a vinyl repress of the project's 2009 self-titled debut this summer.

Merge had initially only released the debut disc on CD, but the label will put its first vinyl pressing into retailers August 20. This isn't the first time the set's appeared on wax, though, as German label Morr pressed it overseas in 2009. The Merge edition differs, however, by including both the original 11-song LP and the now out-of-print, five-song Coast of Carolina EP.

You can see the tracklisting down below.

A press release notes that Telekinesis! was recorded at Seattle's Two Sticks Audio with producer Chris Walla (Death Cab for Cutie, the Decemberists, the Thermals) and was almost entirely performed by founder Michael Benjamin Lerner. The press sheet points to '60s and '70s pop influences figuring into the song cycle, while Exclaim!'s original review noted that the set offers "mean pop chops" and "no-nonsense songs that sound from the heart without making you cringe."


1. Rust

2. Coast of Carolina

3. Tokyo

4. Look to the East

5. Awkward Kisser

6. Foreign Room

7. Great Lakes

8. Imaginary Friend

9. All of a Sudden

10. Calling All Doctors

11. I Saw Lightning

12. Coast of Carolina (EP version) *

13. Plankton *

14. We Talk Thru Satellites *

15. One Step Forward *

16. Creaking in the Floorboards *

* bonus songs