Swans Return with New Album 'Leaving Meaning'

Hear the record's "It's Coming It's Real"
Swans Return with New Album 'Leaving Meaning'
Swans are returning with a new album. Titled Leaving Meaning, the upcoming record from Michael Gira's long-running project will arrive October 25 via Young God/Mute.

Already, we've got the new album track "It's Coming It's Real," which you can stream at the bottom of the page.

Gira wrote and produced Leaving Meaning, which also features contributions from collaborators such as Thor Harris, Norman Westberg, Ben Frost, the Necks, Baby Dee and Jennifer Gira. There are also multiple guest appearances by Anna and Maria von Hausswolff.

Alongside the album announcement, Gira issued the following statement:

Leaving Meaning is the first Swans album to be released since I dissolved the lineup of musicians that constituted Swans from 2010 - 2017. Swans is now comprised of a revolving cast of musicians, selected for both their musical and personal character, chosen according to what I intuit best suits the atmosphere in which I'd like to see the songs I've written presented. In collaboration with me, the musicians, through their personality, skill and taste, contribute greatly to the arrangement of the material. They're all people whose work I admire and whose company I personally enjoy.

The album follows 2016's The Glowing Man. You can pre-order Leaving Meaning both on 2-LP and 2-CD.

Leaving Meaning:

1. Hums

2. Annaline

3. The Hanging Man

4. Amnesia (ft. Anna and Maria von Hausswolff)

5. Leaving Meaning (ft. the Necks)

6. Sunfucker (ft. Anna and Maria von Hausswolff)

7. Cathedrals of Heaven

8. The Nub (ft. Baby Dee and the Necks)

9. It's Coming It's Real (ft. Anna and Maria von Hausswolff)

10. Some New Things

11. What Is This

12. My Phantom Limb